Takaakira 'Taka' Goto - Guitar
Tamaki - Bass, Piano
Yoda - Guitar
Dahm - Drums

The Tokyo, Japan based 4-piece Instrumental Rock band MONO was originally formed in 1999. Their unique approach of combining moving orchestral arrangements and shoegaze guitar noise is held in extremely high regard; so much so, that the band’s musicianship and the diverse musical palette has eclipsed the Rock genre and exists within its own realm. As British Musical Magazine NME once stated, "this is music for the Gods". A particularly monumental live memory of the band was a special set of shows with a 23-piece orchestra in New York, Tokyo, London and Melbourne.

Their annual world tour consists of around 150 shows. The band has now visited over 59 countries (and counting) and proudly holds the title of being one of the most internationally successful bands in Japan. Both critics and fans of Rock music agree that MONO are one of the best live bands in existence.

After releasing 10 successful albums including a live album with an orchestra in New York, the band received the highly regarded award "The Marshall Hawkins Awards: Best Musical Score - Featurette" from the Idyllwild International Festival of Cinema for their collaborative short film "Where We Begin" in 2015. The band was also nominated for "Ariel Award for Best Original Music Score" for the feature film "The 4th Company" which was released in 2016.

In 2018, the band welcomed a new drummer Dahm and began a new journey. This year, the band received a special invitation to be one of the headliners of London's Meltdown Festival, personally requested by the 2018’s curator Robert Smith of The Cure, where the stage was shared with artists such as My Bloody Valentine, Nine Inch Nails, Mogwai and Deftones.

The band's 20 year anniversary was welcomed in the following year. To commemorate this occasion, the 10th album "Nowhere Now Here" was released together with a world tour. The tour was over a year long, consisting of 4 special orchestra shows in Los Angeles, Chicago, New York and London, and marked its successful end in March 2020.

Now, the band prepares for the new album, together once again with their longtime friend Steve Albini of Electrical Audio, which is planned to be released in 2021.

1999年結成、東京出身4人組インストゥルメンタル・ロック・バンドMONO。オーケストラとシューゲーズギターノイズを合わせた、オリジナルな楽曲スタイルが非常に高い評価を受け、もはやロックミュージックの域では収まらない音楽性を発揮し、イギリスの音楽誌NMEでは"This Is Music For The Gods__神の音楽"と賞賛される。ライブにおいても23名のオーケストラを従えた編成でのスペシャルショウをニューヨーク・東京・ロンドン・メルボルンで2009年に行った。


NYでのオーケストラとのライブアルバムを含め10枚のアルバムをリリースし、国内外でも高い評価を獲得し続けた中2015年には、コラボレーション作成した短編映画"Where We Begin"でカルフォルニアの国際的なフィルムフェスティバルIdyllwild International Festival of Cinemaからベストミュージカルスコア賞"The Marshall Hawkins Awards: Best Musical Score - Featurette"を受賞。そして、2016年には楽曲提供をした長編映画"The 4th Company"がメキシコ・アカデミー賞"Ariel Award"の音楽賞でノミネートされる。

2018年、新しいドラマーDahmを迎え、The Cureのロバート・スミスのキュレーションでロンドンで開催されたMeltdown FestivalにMy Bloody Valentine, Nine Inch Nails, Mogwai, Deftones等と共にヘッドライナーとして出演する。翌年、10枚目となるアルバム”Nowhere Now Here”をリリース(米ビルボード インディチャート初登場23位)。バンドは結成20周年記念として、LA、シカゴ、NY、ロンドンでのスペシャルオーケストラ公演を含むワールドツアーを2020年3月まで行った。



Original Soundtrack

The Virtues

The Virtues: Ep 2 (2019)

Country: United Kingdom
Type: Channel 4 TV Mini Series
Director: Shane Meadows

View on IMDB

Amanda (2018)

Country: France
Type: Feature Film
Director: Mikhaël Hers

View on IMDB
The 4th Company

The 4th Company (2016)

Country: Mexico
Type: Feature Film
Directors: Mitzi Vanessa Arreola, Amir Galván Carvera

View on IMDB
Ray Donovan

Ray Donovan: Ep 406 (2016)

Country: United States
Type: Showtime Original TV Series
Creator: Ann Biderman

View on IMDB
Real Onigokko

リアル鬼ごっこ (Real Onigokko) (2015)

Country: Japan
Type: Feature Film
Director: 園子温 (Sion Sono)

View on IMDB
Where We Begin

Where We Begin (2015)

Country: Japan
Type: Short Film
Writer & Director: 宮崎光代 (Mitsuyo Miyazaki)

View on IMDB

Wildlike (2014)

Country: Canada
Type: Short Film
Writer & Director: Frank Hall Green

View on IMDB
Kanata No Ko

かなたの子 (Kanata No Ko) (2013)

Country: Japan
Type: WOWOW Origianl TV Drama
Director: 大森立嗣 (Tatsushi Omori)

View on IMDB
All God's Children Can Dance

All God's Children Can Dance (2008)

Country: United States
Type: Feature Film
Writer: Haruki Murakami
Director: Robert Logevall

View on IMDB
Snow Angels

Snow Angels (2007)

Country: United States
Type: Feature Film
Director: David Gordon Green

View on IMDB


The Marshall Hawkins Awards: Best Musical Score - Featurette
The Marshall Hawkins Awards: Best Musical Score - Featurette
Idyllwild International Festival of Cinema
Where We Begin (Short Film) 2015


Ariel Award for Best Original Music Score
The 4th Company (Feature Film) 2016